Saturday, May 19, 2018

Summer vibes with hot Oz rockers The Faim on new single 'Summer Is A Curse'

Words: Linn Branson

Having seen this band twice at The Great Escape over the last two days, I can only say not just how damn good they are live (my favourite act of the festival), but if you haven't seen them while they are amongst us Brits right now from their native Perth, Australia on tour, then make every effort to catch them, as alt-rockers The Faim are one of the most vibrant and exciting new bands who are certain to become mega huge.

Some Brighton shot promo footage

They are also promoting a new single, the follow-up to 'Midland Line', the Ashton Irwin (5 Seconds Of Summer) co-written 'Summer Is A Curse'.

Produced by John Feldmann (blink-182, All Time Low), it's a seriously catchy, festival stage type anthem. Believe me, once you see and hear this done live, there'll be no going back. Singer Josh Raven is the Michael Hutchence of the 00's who it's hard not to be won over by.

"‘Summer Is A Curse’" is about taking the leap into a make or break situation that could grow into the beginning of a new era, or cause the end of what could’ve been," explains the frontman."It’s about the paths that we take, the dreams that we have, and the things we leave behind to reach them."

Find out more on The Faim on Facebook

Live UK dates

21 LONDON Tufnell Park Dome*
22 LEEDS Key Club *
23 MANCHESTER Night People *
24 CARDIFF Clwb Ifor Bach *
25 GLASGOW Stereo
26-28 Slam Dunk Festival
31 BOURNEMOUTH The Anvil (sold out)

01 CHELTENHAM Frog & Fiddle
02 LONDON Camden Rocks
08 Download Festival

24 READING Festival
25 LEEDS Festival

* supporting PVMNTS

Stream the new Parquet Courts album 'Wide Awake!'

Brooklyn's Parquet Courts' unveiled their sixth album 'Wide Awake!' yesterday (May 18) via Rough Trade Records. The politically-themed full-length that addresses America's violence, was recorded in partnership with producer Danger Mouse.

Stream ‘Wide Awake!’ in full below.

Best new tracks Down Under #20

With the vibrant indie music scene in Australia and New Zealand constantly outshining much of the output from their British and American cousins, Little Indie picks our weekly bunch of some of the best new tracks on offer


Following last year's 'Rock n Roll', latest single, released May 11, from Newcastle, New South Wales indie punk-pop trio. Preceding their upcoming EP 'Never Yoch Alone', this is one to get the musical juices flowing.


Indie pop-gaze four-piece from Adelaide. The opening to this sub-five minute number - one of two 'sneaky demos' they have uploaded online - is particularly fine.


Released last week, Adelaide two-piece Skye (vocals, guitar, bass) and Paige (vocals, guitar, keys, drums) follow-up their earlier debut single 'Stuck' with a cheeky pop-rock toned piece. "'Listerine' is about the frustration of loving someone who has a drinking problem. You want to help them with every fibre of your being, but they won't allow it and you don't fully understand the struggles of the addiction," says Paige.


Brisbane sludgepop-grungegaze trio released their self-titled debut album last week, from which this fuzzy track comes. Gritty guitars and Kelly Hanlon's airy vocals prove a weighty combination.


Interesting first single off the Melbourne two-piece's - Laura Lazzara (vocals, guitar) and Hayley Austen (keys, guitar, synth) - self-titled debut EP. An interesting, infectious synthpop-rap.


Perth four-piece (expanded from singer/songwriter Matthew Burke's original two-piece with drummer/cousin, Andrew Barnett) deliver the second single from their forthcoming EP, a reflective number of uplifting melodies.

Track Of The Day :: HAITCH - Body Double

Words: Sam Geary

Stirring and impressive official debut release from 23-year-old Sydney, Australia electronic pop-rock singer-songwriter, Harrison Baker, know known in this solo project as HAITCH, formerly guitarist with the band BLIIS.

'Body Double', is intensely catchy, employing vocal manipulation on an electronically-effected base of beats. Although it's been out a while, it sounds too good not to give a mention to.

“It’s one of those songs that just needed to be written for my own peace of mind. Making the conscious effort to make myself address my personal life in a way I've never approached songwriting before. If people want an opening statement of who I am, listen to that record,” he states of 'Body Double'.

Take him up on it.

Friday, May 18, 2018

Listen :: Eves Karydas shares new single ‘Couch’

Words: Ellie Ward

Ahead of her UK appearance tomorrow (May 19) at The Great Escape (The Beach House, 1.30pm), and after supporting Dua Lipa on tour in Australia, Eves Karydas releases her new single, ‘Couch’, out now via Island Records/Dew Process.

Take a listen below to the electrifying track from the now London-based Australian, that builds upon the sensual and emotional moments of earlier singles ‘There For You,’ and ‘Further Than The Planes Fly’.

“'Couch' is about a small intimate moment with someone, and how that can make you feel volumes. I wrote it when I moved into my first flat in London. I was suddenly feeling more ambitious and empowered than I'd ever felt in my life. That's what this song is about at its core: confidence in yourself," Eves says.

Stream Courtney Barnett’s new album 'Tell Me How You Really Feel'

Words: Sam Geary

After recently collaborating with Kurt Vile on 'Lotta Sea Lice', Courtney Barnett today (May 18) releases her own new album, 'Tell Me How You Really Feel'.

Marking her first full-length in three years after 2015’s 'Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit', the 10-track record is now available to stream in full.

Take a listen below.